Wednesday, June 30, 2010

Playlist for June 28, 2010

Real Estate "Suburban Dogs"
Luna "Swedish Fish"
Monsters of Folk "His Master's Voice"
Mirah "The Light"
The Delta Mirror "Going to Town"
*MGMT "flash delerium" New
Pj Harvey "You Come Through"
The Clean "All those Notes"
The Cure "Plainsong"
Broken Social Scene "All to All"
*UNKLE "Follow Me Down" New
*The Black Keys "The Next Girl" New
Cass McCombs "Don't Vote"
Destroyer "The Night Moves"
Plants & Animals "Tom Cruz"
Wild Moccasins "Skin Collision Past"
A Lull "Weapons for War"
*For A Minor Reflection "Dansi Dans" New
Passion Pit "Tonight, Tonight"
The Smashing Pumpkins "Beautiful"
*Here We Go Magic "Casual" New
The Vaselines "No Hope"
Voyager One "1,000 Miles 1,000 Deathes"
The Books "A True Story Of True Love"
Setting Sun "Make You Feel"
Mice Parade "In Between Times"
Casiotone for the Painfully Alone "Love Connection"
*Ariel Pink's Haunted Graffiti "Round and Round" New

Tuesday, June 22, 2010

Playlist for June 21, 2010

Back on the air EVERY Monday night! Lots of great new music this week.

*Local Natives "Sticky Thread" New
*The Besnard Lakes "Like The Ocean, Like The Innocent Part 1" New
*Yeasayer "ONE" New
Sea of Bees "Marmalade"
*Ariel Pink's Haunted Graffiti "Round and Round" New
Fanfarlo "Fire Escape (Dave Sitek Remix)"
Elf Power "Stranger in the Window"
The Morning Benders "Dreams (Fleetwood Mac cover)"
Ego Puppets "Avatar Couture"
*Apples In Stereo "C.P.U." New
Woods "Blood Dries Darker"
*Blonde Redhead "Here Sometimes" New
Reeks and the Wrecks "Dunebuggy"
The Books "A Cold Freezin' Night"
MNDR "I Go Away"
*Tokyo Police Club "Breakneck Speed (remix)" New
*Sleigh Bells "Rill Rill" New
Tamaryn "Sandstone"
Band Of Horses "No One's Gonna Love You" - They have a new album out but I don't have it yet!
*Here We Go Magic "Vegetable or Native" New
Trees on Fire "Live Life"
Frank (Just Frank) "Coeur Hante"
Apples In Stereo "Go"
Coasting "Kids"
The Unicorns "Inoculate the Innocuous"
*The Flaming Lips & Stardeath and the White Dwarfs "Brain Damage" New
Flaming Lips & Stardeath and White Dwarfs "Borderline"
*Broken Bells "Your Head is on Fire" New

Great song called "Kids" from a Brooklyn rock duo Coasting. More info and free download of this song is available at Stereogum.

In the news..

The Independent featured me in their KCSBeat column this week. Check out the article here. It made the front page of their website today. Big thanks to Colin Marshall for giving my humble little show some publicity!

Monday, June 21, 2010

Mondays can't be that bad?

KCSB's summer schedule was just announced.  As usual, it may take a week or two for the updated schedule to appear on the KCSB website.

I will continue to host "Between the Bars" every Monday night from 8-10 pm.

Playlist for June 19, 2010

Subbing for Rockin' All Directions

The Magnetic Fields "I Think I Need a New Heart"
 Datarock "See What I Care"
 Vampire Weekend "A-Punk"
 Hot Chip "Over and Over"
 Prince and the Revolution "Darling Nikki"
 Peter Bjorn and John "Nothing to Worry About"
 Passion Pit "Little Secrets"
*Crystal Castles "Empathy" New
 Sleigh Bells "Tell 'em"
 Toro y Moi "Human Nature"
 Ratatat "Party With Children"
 The Very Best "Warm Heart of Africa"
 The Police "Canary In a Coalmine"
 The Pixies "U-Mass"
 LCD Soundsystem "Drunk Girls"
 Black Kids "I'm Not Gonna Teach Your Boyfriend How to Dance With You"
*Goldfrapp "Shiny and Warm" New
 Annie "Girlfriend"
 CSS "Let's Make Love and Listen to Death from Above" (Spank Rock remix)
 Daft Punk "Face to Face"
*Phantogram "As Far As I Can See" New
 Air "Be A Bee"
 Nu Shooz "I Can't Wait"
 Ariel Pink's Haunted Graffiti "Fright Night"

Friday, June 18, 2010

Subbing for "Rockin' All Directions" this Saturday

I will be covering for another DJ this Saturday from 6:30 - 8pm PST.  I'm planning to do a fun upbeat show to preparty to.  Listen online at

Oh, and don't forget the KCSB schedule will be changing for the summer quarter starting Monday, June 21.  Keep your eye on our website for updates!

Playlist for June 14, 2010

Gorillaz "On Melancholy Hill"
Neon Indian "Sleep Paralysist"
The Delta Mirror "A Song About The End"
The Beta Band "Broken Up A Ding Dong"
Micachu "Turn Me Well"
*Here We Go Magic "Casual" New
Papercuts "Dead Love"
The Pixies "Caribou"
Jay Reatard "My Reality"
The Feelies "What Goes On"
Ok go "Before The Earth Was Round"
Black Moth Super Rainbow "Smile The Day After Today"
Broken Social Scene "Highway Slipper Jam"
*The National "Anyone's Ghost" New
Of Montreal "Forecast Fascist Future"
Psapp "King Kong"
Ratatat "Alps"
Happy Birthday "2 Shy"
*Deer Tick "20 Miles" New
Beach Fossils "Youth"
R.E.M. "Gardening At Night"
Teenage Fanclub "Baby Lee"
The Blue Hearts "Linda Linda"
The Clash "Koka Kola"
Tegan & Sara "Red Belt"
Oh No! Oh My! "Jane Is Fat"
Big Tree "The concurrence of all things"
Hot Hot Heat "Goddess on the Prairie"
The Acorn "Restoration (four the remix)"
*Flaming Lips "Money" New

Monday, June 7, 2010

Playlist for June 1, 2010

Subbing for Chris Vestudo's show "Rocket Garden Holiday"

 Grizzly Bear "Easier"
*Kaki King "Everything Has an End, Even Sadness" New
 Shout Out Louds "1999"
 Gang of Four "Return the Gift"
 Spoon "Trouble Comes Running"
 Local Natives "Shape Shifter"
 Beach House "Lover of Mine"
 Yeasayer "Madder Red"
 Dirty Projectors "Stillness Is the Move"
 Tom Tom Club "On, On, On, On..."
*Caribou "Found Out" New
 The Mynabirds "Numbers Don't Lie"
 Ben Folds Five "Philosophy"
 Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeroes "40 Day Dream"
*Liars "No Barrier Fun" New
 Nina Nastasia & Jim White "I've Been Out Walking"
 Versus "Invincible Hero"
 Choir of Young Believers "Claustrophobia (The Antlers Remix)"
 Record Club "I Need You Tonight"
 Thee Oh Sees "I Was Denied"
 Pylon "Stop It"
 Gentle Friendly "Clean Breaker"
 Deerhoof "Believe E.S.P."
 Magazine "The Light Pours Out of Me"
 Hot Chip "Hand Me Down Your Love"
 Gayngs "Faded High"
 Young Marble Giants "Choci Loni"
*Jonsi "Sinking Friendships" New

Thursday, June 3, 2010

Playlist for May 31, 2010

 Atlas Sound "Walkabout (With Noah Lennox)"
*Archie Bronson Outfit "Hoola" New
*The Ruby Suns "Cinco" New
 Camera Obscura "Away With Murder"
 Radiohead "How to Disappear Completely"
*Kaki King "Spit It Back In My Mouth" New
 Oh No Ono "Internet Warrior"
 The Feelies "It's Only Life"
 Unknown Temporarily "Happiness"
*Pavement "Spit on a Stranger" New
 Stranglers "Who Wants the World"
 Indian Jewelry "Oceans"
 Peter Wolf Crier "Hard As Nails"
 Nico "I'll Keep It With Mine"
 Fleet Foxes "Quiet Houses"
*Caribou "Bowls" New
 Orange Juice "Falling and Laughing"
 Wavves "Mickey Mouse"
*The Black Keys "Tighten Up" New
 Julian Plenti "Fun That We Have"
 Holy Ghost! "Say My Name"
*Ratatat "Mandy" New
*Massive Attack "Psyche" New
 Taken by Trees "Anna"
 Toro y Moi "Leave Everywhere"
 The Poison Control Center "Being Gone"
 Speck Mountain "Shame On the Soul"
*CocoRosie "The Moon Asked The Crow" New